Random Roommate Anxieties

Soooo….still haven’t heard from my future roommate. I sent her a friend request today on Facebook but she hasn’t accepted it yet. If I don’t hear from her soon, I guess I’ll have to shoot her an email.

I don’t know why, but I’m much more nervous about this random roommate than I was my freshman year. Maybe it’s because freshman year I was paired up with someone who was in my scholars program – so I knew we had a common interest. Plus we started talking right away. I didn’t have all this time to ruminate over negative possibilities.

I’m trying my best not to judge her based on the limited pictures I can see on her Facebook. It’s so tempting though!! But I know jumping to judgements never results in anything good.

I just hope this upcoming year will be everything I want it to be. I consider myself really good at getting along with anybody, but still, I was hoping me and my roommate this year could be close friends.

I mean, if that doesn’t happen – its no big deal. You don’t have to be best friends with someone to live with them. I’ve just been searching for the stereotypical “best friend” my entire life and I have yet to find her.

You know what I’m talking about. The girl you can tell all your secrets to without judgement. The girl you share clothes and advice with and you do everything together. I’ve come close to reaching that with some of my friends but I still haven’t quite gotten there. Probably the closest I came to a “best friend” was my ex and y’all all know how that worked out. I want a best friend who doesn’t ultimately leave me in the end.

But anyways, I just really hope me and my roommate get along as well as my roommate and I did last year, if not better. I’ve heard some awful horror stories about random roommates and as long as I don’t become one of those stories – I think I’ll be okay.

I am excited about the dorm I’m living in next year though. It’s newly renovated so I’m hoping it’ll be nice. I watched it transform all last year and I can’t wait to see the inside!! I’m also trying really hard to make my dream dorm a reality this year.

Last year, my dorm just didn’t feel very comfy or homey. It wasn’t very well decorated and comfortable seating was sparse. I also needed way more storage and organization but because I didn’t have it, my room stayed a constant mess. I’m hoping to put all of that in the past this year and make my dorm look more like the magazines: clean, comfortable, and girly.

I also have an obsession with things matching. That is something I have wanted for as long as I can remember: an all matching, color coordinated bedroom. I want to make that a reality this year!! And I’m gonna try as hard as I can!! Maybe I’ll draw up a picture and put it on here so people can see the vision in my head.

But anyways, I’m feeling pretty positive about next year, even with my roommate anxiety. I’m going to try and make next year my best year ever!! Here’s some of my goals:

• strive for all As
• keep my dorm room clean all year long
• make some more new friends
• get more involved on campus
• exercise more

That’s all I can think of right now. Those seem like reasonable goals right?? I think I can manage all that, especially since I won’t have a boyfriend to distract me.

Ahhhh, I love new school years. They’re always so full of new and amazing possibilities. My limit is my imagination!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

