Threatening the Status Quo

Why is it that people who threaten the status quo are cast out and exiled?? What is so horrible about change??

I ask this as I ponder the treatment I received in high school. I had vicious rumors spread about me along with being the target of cyber harassment. All because my behavior was deemed, I don’t know, taboo?? Inappropriate??

I don’t want to go into detail about the behavior that earned me those bullies, I’m only curious why I received so much attention in the first place. Compared to society, my behavior wasn’t really abnormal at all – yet people targeted me, I feel, because I threatened the status quo of what is considered to be appropriate behavior for a teenage girl in the south.

I’m fascinated by the National Geographic show Taboo. I love learning about the fringes of society and things society considers “taboo”.

Why does the concept of “taboo” exist anyways?? Does it exist to keep society in predefined boundaries, to make people stay in line and not think for themselves?? Cuz that’s rather a shame. But you see it every day. People forego thinking in exchange for a nicely packaged predetermined way of life.

You know that’s why I think organized religion has been more successful and why religions like Buddhism, that encourage self reflection and independent thought, will never surpass organized religion in numbers of adherents. People don’t want to think for themselves. They’d rather blindly adhere to the pre established tenets of some book than figure out what they truly believe.

And don’t get me wrong. If you have thoughtfully examined and reflected upon *insert religious text here* then props to you. I respect your decision. But I doubt anyone will argue with me when I say there is a multitude of blind followers who give no thought to the religious doctrine they follow.

It’s really a sad reality. But I digress. Actually, I’m not sure what point I was getting at anyways. I guess I’m just trying to encourage people to think for themselves. If I died with the only accomplishment to my name being that I caused someone to “wake up”, to start thinking for themselves, I would die happy.

20120712-003010.jpg

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a comment

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other subscribers

In the Past