Wherever Writing takes Me

I feel really excited today. I’ve been thinking about writing and my major and future careers I could have other than my grad school idea.

I think I’m going to apply to be on staff of one of OSU’s literary magazines. If I got accepted to be on staff, it would help me gauge if maybe I wanted to go in the editing/publishing direction rather than the Ottoman studies direction. I’ve always loved proofreading and my mom has always suggested editing as a career path for me.

But regardless, it would look good on my future job resume/grad school application. I also feel like it would help give me some inside knowledge on how the submission and acceptance process works for literary magazines. I’ve wanted to submit my poetry before but held off because of intimidation.

But it’s a really exciting idea for me. Plus if I went in that sort of career direction, I feel like it would be easier to find internships in that area.

I just know one thing. After I graduate, I want to be writing. Even if that means writing on the side, I just want to be a writer. I’ve always loved writing and it would make me so happy to be published.

Every day I’m thinking more and more strongly about adding that creative writing minor to my academics. Scheduling an appointment with my advisor(s) will be one of my top priorities when I get back to school.

And on a slightly unrelated note, I had a super amazing, intense dream last night and I really think with some tweaking, it would make a kick-ass story. It’s probably one of the most coherent dreams I’ve had in a while and if I can tweak the plot to sound less like an Avatar and Fern Gully hybrid, I think it could be awesome.

It’s been forever since I’ve written any fiction. In terms of inspiration, that area of my brain has been very dry lately. But it certainly would be a worthwhile challenge, and even if it’s crappy, it would definitely help my writing improve. And it excites me to think about writing fiction again!!

But yeah, that’s all I got to talk about right now. It’ll take me a long time to get this potential story off the ground, it’s been that long since I’ve written fiction. Like I have no clue where to start, but I’m sure a little googling will sort all that out. Wish me luck!! 😄

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

