A Future in Acting??

You know, part of me really wants to try acting.

It’s something I’ve been thinking about recently and it really intrigues me. I don’t really have much experience in acting, so I have no way of knowing if I’m talented or not, but it sounds like something fun to try.

Lately I just find myself wanting to do something that could get me recognized. I don’t know. I won’t lie. I like attention. I like being in the spotlight. And acting could maybe be a way to fulfill that desire. Even if it’s just on the small scale, it would make me feel like I’m actually doing something with my life.

Outside of majoring in theatre, there seems to be at least 2 student acting groups on campus that I could maybe get experience with and find out if this is something I enjoy. I like to believe I have talent. I always thought I did a good job reading plays in lit class. Haha. But again, I really don’t know.

At the very least, it would be something fun to try and say “I did that”.

I just hate feeling like I’m accomplishing nothing with my life. Yes, I’m in a college and pursuing a degree. But the the fruits from that labor won’t be seen for several years. I want to feel like I’m doing something now. Something to get my name out there. I hate feeling like a nobody.

I don’t want to sit here and wallow in narcissism and say “I’m so amazing. I’m going to be a famous actress. Blah blah blah.” That’s dumb. I just want to be able to say “Hey look. That’s my name. I did that. I performed.” Isn’t that a respectable goal??

So I may hold off on submitting my literary magazine application, just to see if maybe I can make it into one of those acting groups. Who knows?? Maybe I can do both?? I don’t know. But it would certainly be interesting to see if I could do it. I think it’s worth a shot.

I’m sure my parents would say I’m crazy. But I can’t do things for them anymore. I gotta do things I want to do and live my life for me, even if other people think I’m crazy for doing it.

Who knows?? Anything can happen.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

One response to “A Future in Acting??

  1. stillstrange

    Hey if you are able to and can afford it..I say Follow Your Dreams.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

