Making the Ikea Pilgrimage

I am super exhausted today. It’s has been a long and eventful day. I went to Ikea for the first time ever, and it was certainly an experience.

I never could have imagined the volume of people that visit Ikea everyday. It seemed like every 5 minutes a new wave of people passed through the maze-like aisles.

I don’t know if I would call the experience fun, but it certainly was interesting. I love to shop, especially for home decor and whatnot, but I wasn’t really in the market for furniture (which seems to be ikea’s speciality) so the trip was a little more draining than it was fun. It didn’t help I was running on only about 3 hours of sleep. What can I say?? Atlanta is a 2-3 hour drive away. I had to get up early but my summer schedule meant I went to sleep late.

Anyways, while Ikea’s selection of furniture was nice, I was disappointed with their selection of smaller things – like home organization and wall art. You would think a store as big as Ikea would have everything you could ever imagine in those departments, but no, I found it lacking.

The food was also sub-par in my opinion. All of my friends who’ve been to Ikea rave about the Swedish meatballs, but I didn’t eat those so I can’t provide any commentary on them.

I got spinach and cheese crepes along with penne pasta in marinara sauce. I must admit though, when I say the food was sub-par, it is due to the fact that I’m an extremely picky eater and has nothing to do with the actual food.

I am a texture eater, and while I know a lot of people won’t understand what I mean when I say that, the people who do, know exactly what I mean. Certain food textures I find to be very repelling; mainly textures that resemble jellyfish. They’re like mushy and gooey and slimy. I don’t know. It’s hard to describe. But that was my complaint with the crepes. I found the texture to be repelling. Plus, after eating real crepes in France over spring break, I feel any American attempt at the food will fall short. And the main complaint with the penne pasta is that is was cooked al dente, and I don’t like al dente pasta. Simple as that.

Both of my parents generally had positive reviews of the food though.

I bought 2 things at Ikea. A dustpan for use in college, and a baby peace lily. I seriously think I may be forming an addiction to houseplants. This is now the 5th plant I’ve acquired in a year (not counting the one I accidentally killed). But I just couldn’t leave it!! The state of storage those plants were in was very disheartening for me. Most of the live plants for sale were bright light loving plants and here they were stuck in this warehouse full of artificial fluorescent lighting. So sad. The one positive is that most of the plants were well watered. All I can assume is that they move enough plants, fast enough, that the plants don’t have to suffer in those conditions for long.

But that’s generally about it. It was a very exhausting day. I haven’t done that much walking in a long time and traveling always wears me out. After arriving home and taking a nap, I went over to one of my friend’s house and watched the movie, Green Hornet.

I must say, for about the first 30 minutes I was really confused and disappointed with the movie. I thought it was the worst superhero movie ever, and the special effects were super cheesy….until my friend pointed out it was supposed to be a comedy. Haha. Oops. But that little tidbit of knowledge improved the movie greatly after that.

But overall, today was nice. It’s days like today that remind me I do occasionally have a social life. Haha.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

2 responses to “Making the Ikea Pilgrimage

  1. stillstrange

    I totally agree on the crepes and I love crepes. I also am a picky eater. Those things were just disgusting.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

