Learning to Love Standing Out

I am very excited by my discovery that Columbus has its very own fashion week!! My head is buzzing with all sorts of grand daydreams about attending. Especially because I went shopping today and now have some very nice pieces I could wear to an event like that.

I bought my first blazer today, and now I want more!! I just love how polished blazers make everything look. I have become slightly obsessed with this idea of always presenting myself as polished and professional.

Autumn quarter of this past year, there was a girl in my PoliSci class who I greatly admired because of her fashion risks. She wore the craziest outfits; outfits you definitely wouldn’t see repeated on campus. But even though they were crazy, they looked good. And I’ll admit, I was super jealous of her. Jealous of her clothing and her confidence to take risks and not care what people thought.

Well I want to be that girl. Not necessarily by dressing crazily or abnormally, but by taking risks with my clothes. I want to wear high heels and dress like I’m going somewhere fancy. That may not sound like a fashion risk to some, but for me it is. As much as I love having my own unique style, I have still always tried to blend in. Dressing fancy, for me, means standing out. Especially on a college campus where it’s not so abnormal to see people go to class in sweats, dressing up gets you noticed.

I have always loved heels, and recently my love for dresses and skirts has grown exponentially. In high school I was always afraid to wear heels because I felt they made me stand out too much – they made me too tall and too fancy for school. I didn’t have the confidence to wear exactly what I wanted. But now I’m saying screw that.

I’m tired of worrying about what other people think about me. I’m tired of worrying about “standing out”. Standing out is a good thing!! Standing out is what gets people noticed. And especially during college, when I’m trying to get an education, make connections, and establish a career, standing out is one of the most valuable things I can do!!

20120724-013200.jpg

I believe how you dress is a reflection of what you think about yourself and how much respect you have for the people around you. If you dress well, people will treat you well, and confidence will naturally follow. What do you think?? Is being well dressed the ultimate form of politeness??

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

