It’s decided.

So I have officially decided to start a fashion blog. Now I’ve started plotted and planning what it will be like.

I haven’t come up with a name yet. That will take a lot of thought because I don’t want to find myself unhappy with it after a couple of months. I think names are always the hardest part of starting a blog. And picking a URL can be even harder! (considering most of your first choices are usually taken).

But regardless, I’ve started to get some good ideas about what I can post about after snooping around the Internet and reading OSU’s fashion magazine. I know I mentioned applying to be on OSU’s literary magazine staff a while back, but now I’m thinking I’ll try and get on the fashion magazine’s staff. They don’t really have an application on their website, you’re just supposed to email someone – but it’s worth a shot.

I know I definitely want my blog to focus on the Columbus fashion scene along with the national and international designers. Apparently when I was applying to OSU, I told everyone I couldn’t wait to get involved with the arts scene and all of that in Columbus. That definitely didn’t happen my freshman year, but it’s not too late! I would really like to get involved with the Columbus fashion scene and being a part of OSU’s fashion magazine would be a great step in that direction – plus it would help me really polish my writing skills.

I just hope I don’t put all this work into this blog and then have my interest fizzle out on it. I’ve had that problem with blogs I’ve started in the past. It’s easy to keep up a blog where I talk about myself, but blogging about a specific subject is a lot more difficult. It’s been especially hard for me to keep up a regular posting schedule in the past. You know, the creative juices dry up, the posting stops, and then I lose interest.

But I suppose if I invest enough in this, I won’t want to lose interest. You know, there’s a difference between keeping up a blog you threw together in a couple of minutes versus a blog you planned and thought about for a while.

So it will be a while before I’m ready to really start this fashion blog. I want to make sure I have everything perfectly planned out before I do. But I’m still excited and I can’t wait to be back in Columbus where I feel it will really flourish.

And I want to make business cards!! Haha. 😝

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

6 responses to “It’s decided.

  1. Hey girl, best of luck with your fashion blog! I definitely look forward to it! =)
    I love fashion myself and I found it really hard to only post about fashion on my blog, but I try to mix it up a bit while still keeping my main base all about fashion and photography with a few rants here and there!
    http://danaphotomemoir.wordpress.com/
    But I know you can do it ! You seem to have the drive for it :)

    • Thanks for the support!! And I’ll definitely keep up with your blog as well! It’s nice to have an example to give some starting off ideas. :)

      • Aww thanks! Your email saying you’re following my blog made me smileeeeeeeeee :D
        What do you think of the summer trends this year? (:

      • In terms of trends, I can’t think of any off the top of my head that I really haven’t liked. I’ve been having a ball this summer with all the trends.

  2. stillstrange

    If that is your dream/goal..Go for it. It’s sort of like me and writing my book. I started writing a book about a bad relationship I was in. It is taking forever but I know not to give up. I take breaks that are way to long because it brings back bad memories and emotions but I really plan to complete this one day. Some things cannot be rushed and your fashion blog may be one of those but its so good that you’ve found your direction in life. Fashion.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

