What’s in a Name??

Ugh. I’ve had a horrible headache all night. It’s making it really hard to think or do anything really. Normally I only get headaches when I’m dehydrated or my blood sugar is low from lack of food. I know neither of those is the cause so I don’t know what to do.

I know I know. Why don’t I take some Advil or something?? I have this weird thing where generally I don’t take over the counter drugs unless the pain is unbelievably severe because I believe america is too dependent on medication. Yeah, being in pain is my way of “sticking it to the man”. Haha.

Anyways, I think I may have thought of a name for my fashion blog. The only problem is, it’s in Turkish. I really like the name and the way it sounds, I just wonder if the fact that it’s in Turkish will be a hindrance.

I mean, on one hand, it could help communicate the idea of being exotic and uncommon while also expressing something about myself (the fact that I speak/am learning Turkish). But on the other hand, no one will know what it means without taking the time to read the about page or look it up. It’s not like it’s Spanish or French that people have lots of exposure to and can infer the meaning. It’s Turkish. Here in America, basically the only Turkish speakers are Turkish. Not to mention Turkey isn’t really known for being particularly important in the fashion world (though there is a Turkish Vogue). Hm.

Call me paranoid but I don’t want to put the name on this blog. You never know who might decide to steal it (I know I’m being paranoid). But regardless, what do you think about the whole Turkish blog name?? It’s easy to pronounce and doesn’t have any special letters in it – so its not like it would be hard to read for people unfamiliar with Turkish.

Do you think it’s a good idea, or do you think it’s a bad idea?? Do you think I’m worrying too much about the importance of a name?? I have a tendency to over analyze things.

I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to think about it. I’d really appreciate input on this subject though. (Watch me spend so much time worrying about everything being perfect that I never actually make the blog) 😓

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

