The Law of Attraction Limbo

So I don’t really have much to say tonight in terms of fashion or my fashion blog, other than the fact I’m questioning my reluctance to actually start it. But I have been thinking about positive thinking and the law of attraction (which kind of relates I think).

For those who may not know, the law of attraction basically believes that whatever you think, you manifest. Like attracts like.

I first became aware of the law of attraction after reading the book, The Secret, (which I feel really mainstreamed the idea) and I’ve been in a sort of limbo about the idea ever since. I can’t decide if I really believe in it or not. The logical, scientific part of me scoffs at the idea and completely rejects the notion that your thoughts can be manifested physically. But the esoteric, spiritual part of me wants to fully embrace the idea.

I 100% believe that the way you think can affect how you live your life. I’m just not sure if I believe that your thoughts can physically manifest themselves in your life.

I’ve read tons of success stories about the law of attraction and it’s not a huge leap to make from believing your thoughts affect your life to believing your thoughts physically manifest. I’ve also never really wholeheartedly tried to use the law of attraction, so I can’t say from experience whether it works or not. But the logical side of me just wants to fight so hard against this idea.

The Dean Koontz book I finished a while back, From the Corner of his Eye, was based on the idea that everything everybody does or will do creates some sort of vibration in the universe. Those vibrations in turn create more vibrations which affect other people and things. The book also talked about how, if you cut a person’s life short, it creates a discord in the universe because all the potential vibrations that person would’ve created are gone, missing. That discord then gets returned, magnified, upon the person who cut short the other’s life. I found that idea to be really poetic and it rang true to a part of me.

I feel like the law of attraction may also work on the same principle. When you think a thought, it creates a vibration that travels around the universe eventually returning, magnified physically to you. Is that really so hard of a belief to accept??

Buddhism already teaches everything and everyone is connected through karma and rebirth. I have accepted those principles with very little difficulty, even though they both also contradict the scientific side of me. Why then, if I already accept the belief in karma and interconnectedness, is it so hard for me to accept the law of attraction??

It’s true, the principle does conflict with current scientific knowledge, but science doesn’t know everything there is to know yet. It is possible that in the future science could uncover something that proves and explains the law of attraction perfectly.

I guess I’m afraid to believe in the law of attraction because it seems too easy. You grow up your entire life, learning that life isn’t fair, life is hard work, you don’t get a choice. And suddenly, things don’t have to be that way. Suddenly, someone says “you can control your entire life just by how you think”. And in life they also teach you, that if it seems to go to be true, it usually is. Is that the case here??

But I also see the law of attraction in other religions. In basically every religion I’ve ever studied (which is a large number I believe), I see the principles of the law of attraction being taught. They may have been repackaged. They may be labeled under “God” or “karma” or whatever else you can think of. But the principle is still the same, and it seems to be universal.

I suppose it really is just fear keeping me from fully accepting the law. Fear that suddenly, life can’t be put into this nice, little, pretty, scientific box. And fear of my own power. If I really have the ability to change my life through my thoughts, what am I, what are we as humans, really capable of?? And how can I be sure I really know what I wan anyways??

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

One response to “The Law of Attraction Limbo

  1. The movie “The Secret” was a good introduction to the basics of the Law of Attraction but it downplayed the hard work that is needed to make things happen. Thinking or affirming things into being is not really how it works. But change is possible if the Law of Attraction is combined with action. It is amazing what can happen with focus and persistence. I continue to be impressed by the power of the universal message of the “New Thought” teachers of the last 100 years, and the relevance of their ideas today. I always go back to William Walker Atkinson’s book “Thought Vibration or the Law of Attraction in the Thought World” when I need an explanation of how the Law of Attraction REALLY works. Check out the new updated gender neutral edition at http://www.hudsonmohawkpress.com

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

