Buddhism makes me happy. :D

I don’t feel like writing a sappy post about my ex boyfriend. Yes it’s true, he’s been on my mind a lot lately – but I’m really just trying not to focus on it right now. It’s not good for my mental and emotional health.

I really just feel like writing about Buddhism. I don’t know what about; Buddhism just makes me so happy. Honestly, sometimes I wish I could convert the whole world to Buddhism so that they could share in the joy it brings me.

I just find Buddhism to be so logical and so inspirational. I haven’t found any of the teachings to be untrue so far. And one of the best parts about Buddhism is the fact that very little faith is required. I can see almost all of the Buddha’s teachings demonstrated in real life.

Maybe I should do some posts about the Buddha and his teachings?? At least from my perspective. I just wanna tell the whole world how great his teachings are!!

You know lately I’ve been talking about the law of attraction and trying to figure out what I want to do. Sometimes I feel like I am destined to do something involving Buddhism.

When I originally started my search for a religious “home”, Buddhism was one of the first religions I looked at – but I quickly dismissed it because it didn’t fit my personal philosophy at the time. 4 years and many religions later, a little voice inside of me told me to check Buddhism out again. It was like a little lightbulb going off in my head. “I’m not happy with any of these current religions.” “You should study Buddhism again.” “Yes of course! That makes perfect sense.”

And Buddhism is definitely something I’m passionate about. Of course if I want to involve Buddhism in my future, I need to spend some more time studying it and putting the teachings into practice.

That’s the hardest thing for me right now. In my head, I sometimes call myself an “intellectual Buddhist” because I don’t really practice meditation or anything. I want to, but I don’t. For the reason I mentioned yesterday – I’m scared.

I’m honestly scared of making my life better. I’m scared of letting go of my attachments and desires. They’re something so human, something I’ve lived with my entire life. To abandon them is terrifying, regardless of the benefits it would bring.

I kind of want to write Buddhist children’s books. Children’s books are a type of writing I have experience with. I’ve written several in my lifetime for school. I feel like there are probably a decent amount of Buddhist children’s books already out there, but that doesn’t dampen my spirits.

Part of me would also like to write adult Buddhist books, but I don’t feel knowledgable enough for that yet.

I really just wish I could do something to bring Buddhism more in the spotlight. I feel like so many people could benefit from it, whether they’re Atheist or Christian or Muslim or whatever else, Buddhism has something to offer everybody. I wish I knew how to show the world that.

I know it may sound a little crazy, but I really do believe Buddhism can save the world.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

7 responses to “Buddhism makes me happy. :D

  1. jamesroom964x

    I’ve been thinking and reading about Buddhism a lot lately. It’s definitely an attractive belief system, and it seems like it tends not have the violence that plagues so many other religions. Buddhist children’s books sounds like a very cool idea. In a way, children might make the perfect Buddhists, in that they haven’t really developed those attachments as strongly as adults have.

    • I agree, children can be great Buddhists!! Haha. But it also has some difficult concepts for children, which is why I love the idea of children’s books.

      But you should definitely keep reading about Buddhism!! Of course I just said in this post I want to convert the whole world, so I might be a little biased. Buddhism is a very peaceful religion and there are very few instances of violence in the name of Buddhism that I have found.

  2. That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writers Wanted

  3. I really like the sentiment of this post – I’m not a Buddhist, but I do think Buddhism is pretty awesome. I think it has a lot in common with Taoism and I’ve found a lot of the same problems you mention – even if you know your attachments cause you trouble it’s SO hard to let them go, and a bit scary. I know what you mean about kids literature as well. I feel like kids get a lot of exposure to Christianity in the west at school and in tv/literature, and I have no problem with that. But I do think more chilled out ideology like Buddhism and Taoism can really add something people are missing in their lives. Anyway, really nice post. Two enthusiastic thumbs up.

  4. Good Post – I agree  Buddhism is about finding spirituality and energy through experience. The more mindful we are the more centered we are in life – Once we become aware of how the ego and our false-self is not our True Nature then a new world and perspective greets us. Yes, continue on your Buddhist path but be aware that any religion or philosophy can carry dogma – that is why you need to continue to connect to your True Nature and listen to your heart wish – best of luck on your journey! JCB

  5. I’ve considered Buddhism and I have even been mistaken for one. It’s certainly more humanist than the Western religions or at least what we see in the media that is surprisingly more like a hate group than what the religion was founded on. I’ve recently come out as an agnostic or at least anti-religious so this post makes me more drawn to Buddhism even though I am ultimately a free-thinker on humanism.

    • Well, I will say Buddhism makes a great religion/philosophy for atheists and agnostics. I did a Q&A with the free-thinker group at my university this past year and they responded pretty positively to it. Buddhism is great because, while there are spiritual faith based elements to it, belief in them is not required to be a Buddhist. :)

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

