Day-to-Day: College, Fashion & Chick-fil-a

So it has occurred to me, after seeing a picture of the closet in my dorm room, I have no clue where I’m going to put my laundry basket. I really took my walk-in closet for granted last year. I could fit everything in it, now I just have a bar and some cubbies.

Luckily for me, my laundry basket matches the rest of my room decor, and it is pretty cute – I just don’t know if I want my dirty laundry being open for the world to see, because there’s no lid on my laundry basket.

I’m also afraid my dorm room bathrooms may not have sinks or mirrors in the private part the way my dorm did last year. It’s a little complicated to explain the bathroom set-up in my previous and soon-to-be dorm, but I need my privacy. I had that in my dorm last year. Part of the reason I chose this dorm was because it had the same bathroom set-up. But now I’m afraid it won’t – and that is quite worrisome to me.

But good news is, I finally heard back from my roommate. Relatively quickly after sending her that email last night, she accepted my Facebook friend request. Apparently she thought she had already added me and I was the one being unfriendly. Haha.

But my roommate is definitely a freshman. Not that that’s a big deal. My primary concern is still that we can get along okay. Hopefully she doesn’t judge me too much for some of my….activities. Haha.

Oh I’m also debating whether I should volunteer for Columbus fashion week. I don’t know what kind of duties volunteering entails, but their Facebook page made it sound really exciting. I also don’t know how not having a car would affect my volunteering – or whether I’d even have time.

I’m not even sure I like fashion that much.
I am leaning towards waiting a year to see how my fashion blog does and whether I can sustain my interest in fashion.

I have started planning and collecting images for a new “feature” I want to put on my blog. I want to do a “Inspired by…” feature on my blog where I come up with outfits that are inspired by other clothes and things. I’m semi-stealing this idea from other blogs I’ve read, but I think it would be a great challenge for my creative muscle.

There is something I wish I could vent about here, but unfortunately I have been sworn to secrecy to a point where even posting on the Internet is off limits. I know it’s silly to mention it if I’m not gonna tell my readers what it is, but at least mentioning it makes me feel a tiny bit better.

Oh. I did go to chick-fil-a today because my mom asked me too. She wanted to “protest”. Ugh. I went because I support chick-fil-a’s right to say whatever the hell they want and I support the fact that their food is delicious. And I really don’t give a fuck In general (pardon my language).

But afterwards my mom thanked me for helping her support “our” religion and biblical “truths”. What are you talking about mom?? I already told you I didn’t agree with their stance on gay marriage.

I guess it just shows how in denial my mom is about me not being a Christian. I haven’t officially told her I’m not Christian anymore, but I’m pretty sure my dad has already figured it out. My mom just doesn’t want to believe it. And honestly, I’m happy to propagate her denial.

I don’t even want to imagine how she would react if flat out told her that 1.) I’m not a Christian and 2.) I don’t even believe in an omnipotent, omniscient god. Really I don’t believe in god at all.

Yeah. Gonna avoid that argument for as long as possible.

But I’m tired. Until tomorrow…maybe I’ll think of something more interesting to write about other than my day-to-day life.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

