New Beginnings & Old Endings

Well I’m excited tonight because tonight was the first post of my new category on my fashion blog “Inspired by…”!!

I’m basically picking an object or animal or something not fashion related and creating an outfit based on it. I finally got an account on polyvore, so I have all the tools necessary to create my own looks.

I plan to post every Friday with a new outfit. I’ve already started on future outfits.

I think most of my posts will be based on animals or plants. I’ve found they provide the most visual interest to base outfits on. Maybe after I start to get the hang of this more, I’ll do some architecture or car inspired outfits, but natural things are enough for now.

I encourage anyone who reads this blog to go check my post out (http://modaolan.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/spanish-moon-moth/) and offer me any kind of advice. Since its only the first post, I know it might be a little rough and I know I have some kinks to work out.

But the good thing is, that thanks to polyvore, all of the outfits I’ve made so far have been relatively cheap. I’ve made sure every item I use in my styles are under $50. Since I’m a college student and can’t afford much more, I don’t expect my readers to pay more either.

But yeah. I’m super happy about this. It’s one more dimension to add to my fashion blog. As I add more and more features to my blog, I feel like it will become really great – it will really have substance. Recycling pinterest pins is nice and all, but won’t get you very far in the scheme of things.

On another note, today my phone ran out of storage and I was forced to go through and delete a bunch of pictures to make room. I only mention this because it meant I had to finally go through and delete all the pictures of me and my ex.

I will admit, it wasn’t easy for me. It was hard to hold back the tears. Especially when I ran across the pictures I’d taken of the valentine’s day card I’d written for him, and even worse, the note I’d written to him on the morning of the day we wound up breaking up.

It was hard to do. I still haven’t been able to convince myself to delete the super sappy texts he sent me while we were dating. It was painful to look back and see how in love with him I was up until the day we’d broken up. It’s even more painful to wonder, if I hadn’t written him that lovey-dovey note – the ultimate catalyst for out relationship’s end, if our relationship might’ve survive a little bit longer.

I’m dreading having to see him when I go back to Columbus. What will I say to him?? I literally have nothing I want to tell him, other than to tell him off. But at the same time I worry that when I see him again, that my heart will melt and I’ll instantly forget all the shit he’s put me through.

I’m not ready to burn the bridge between him and me just yet, but I’m not too anxious to leave it standing either. I wish there was a way to satisfy both the part of me that wants to be his best friend and the part that wants to never see or speak to him again….but there’s not.

But, again to another note. My future roommate wanted me to buy wall-to-wall carpet for out dorm. She was going to buy a tv in exchange. Now I’m desperately trying to convince her that carpet is a bad idea. It’s not that the idea of having a carpeted dorm room doesn’t sound nice to me, it’s just 1.) I really don’t have the money right now and 2.) carpet is a huge pain to deal with!! Even though I wouldn’t have to install it, it’s still so much harder to keep clean. And I already bought a rug to go under my bed.

So we’ll see where this goes. I really don’t want carpet. Hopefully I can make her see my side?? And I really don’t care if we have a tv or not. I went all year without one last year, I can do it again.

I’ll admit it. Even though me and my roommate last year were completely opposite personalities and people, we really synced when it came to living together and dorm decisions. So now…I’m starting to get a little worried. Still keeping my fingers crossed though that me and my future roommate get along awesome-ly.

Hm.
But that’s all I got to report tonight. I haven’t been feeling very introspective lately, so the day-to-day updates look like they’re here to stay at least for a little while.

As sad as it sounds, I can see why general society likes to focus on superficial things rather than deep or spiritual or philosophical things. It’s so much easier!! These last couple of days I’ve mainly been focusing on fashion and college, and it has made my internal life much easier.

But I’m not that kind of person, so I know the introspection will come back eventually. I can’t be content to only experience life on the surface. I have to go deeper!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

