Buddhist Study & Practice Group at OSU

Well I think I may be able to retract my statement about the world not caring about the attack on the Sikh temple. The world still doesn’t care as much as I wish it would, but they talked more about it tonight on the news and I saw a few meager posts about it on Facebook.

So maybe the world cares a little bit.

But I still don’t know what to talk about tonight. I’ve got epic writer’s block right now.

These past 2 days I’ve been focusing a lot on getting things ready for the new school year with the Buddhist group I belong to on campus. We’re going to have a booth at the Student Involvement Fair this year, and I’m helping out with that.

I like to think of myself as kind of the PR/Social Media chair of the club. Last year I made the posters for our group. They wound up not getting distributed very much because of all the rules OSU has for “advertisements”. Ugh. But I also started and currently manage our group’s website/blog: http://osubuddhist.wordpress.com/ and I’m designing the handouts for the Involvement Fair as well.

This group is definitely something I’m passionate about. I really want to get the word out on campus about Buddhism and get our group up and running. Last year we probably only had about 5 regular members, but things are looking up – especially with the Involvement Fair on the horizon.

Basically everyone attends the Involvement Fair and it’ll be a great way to get out name out there. I feel a lot of people might have an interest in Buddhism if they could only learn more about it. Especially kids who may be jaded from organized religion.

Our biggest problem right now is actually getting attendees at our meetings. We have over 50 members of our Facebook page, yet only 5 or so people actually show up at our meetings. Another problem is getting more undergraduate involvement. I’m basically the only active undergraduate in the group, everyone else are graduate students.

It’s a great conundrum. How do you 1.) attract new members 2.) get the word out about your group 3.) have regular meetings and 4.) host campus-wide events on a budget of about $200?? We don’t have the money to have professional posters made or send campus-wide email blasts or whatever else like the bigger groups on campus. It’s definitely a brain teaser.

But yeah, this has been my focus recently. Like I said, I’m really passionate about this student organization and I want want want it to be successful. We could have such an impact on campus!! People just don’t know what they’re missing.

Anyone got any pointers?? Haha. We could really use the help. And hey, if you’re in Columbus near the OSU area and have an interest in Buddhism, please come visit us!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

