Doing Something for Myself

4 days left until I leave for Columbus!!

I’ve have been thinking recently about getting my belly button pierced this upcoming school year. But instead of just a regular belly button piercing, I’d really like to get a double piercing.

20120815-001149.jpg

That’s what they look like. I like the double piercing because it’s just a little more unique than a regular belly button piercing.

Now I don’t want y’all to think I’m being rash about this. I have been thinking about getting a belly button piercing for several years now. I’m not one to make split decisions when it comes to things like this.

The studio I’ve picked out is certified by the Association of Professional Piercers, so they use all the proper sterilization techniques. It’s also probably one of the highest rated tattoo and piercing studios in Columbus.

There are just two….inconveniences??
First off, I’ve had problems with my ear piercings. I got them pierced forever ago, but early into high school I started having problems with them so I quit wearing earrings. They closed up slightly and then I kind of, forced them open again when I decided I wanted to wear earrings again.

Basically I had horrible problems with them, and after going to the doctor, I found out my body was having a foreign body reaction to the earring. My body thought it was something dangerous and tried to encapsulate the earring in skin.

I know that’s gross. But I worry I might have the same problems with a new piercing. But at the same time, my ear piercings were done in Claire’s. And my 2nd and 3rd holes (now closed) I pierced myself. Neither of those are the ideal piercing situation. So I feel like if I get my piercings done professionally, and take care of them properly, I shouldn’t have any problems.

The second thing is my parents. Back before I started my freshman year, they told me I wasn’t allowed to do any sort of body modification until I was out on my own and supporting myself.

But here’s the thing, even though I know they would disapprove if I asked them outright, there’s not much they can do after the fact. I mean, I’m 19 years old. Technically a legal adult. I don’t need their permission. I have my first job this year, so I can use my own money that I earned myself for this piercing. They wouldn’t be paying for it.

Not to mention, a piercing is temporary (I mean in regards to a tattoo). You can just take the jewelry out if you don’t want the piercing anymore. The scars won’t be that bad. Also, a belly button piercing is easy hide. And when I talk about hiding, I mean from future employers. It’s not going to drastically affect my employability at a later date.

I feel like those are enough good reasons to do this despite my parents disapproval. Am I wrong in this rationale??

I mean, I’m just tired of not doing things because I’m afraid of what people will think – this includes my parents. You know, for a while I worried getting a belly button piercing would label me as a “slut” (because, for some reason, it has that association). Then I realized I didn’t care. I know I’m not a slut. That’s all that matters.

This is something I find attractive, something I feel will be an expression of a part of me. I mean, there are a lot worse things someone could do to themselves than get a belly button piercing.

I also have the support of my friends.

I feel overall, the pros outweigh the cons.

By on to another topic. My car went to the shop today for its checkup. I get it back tomorrow. My mom is off the rest of the week in preparation for our trip to Columbus, so we’ll be doing some last minute shopping for college supplies tomorrow.

We’re also going shoe shopping tomorrow because I’ve realized I have no sandals. I bought a maxi dress recently, and other than flip flops, I really have no shoes to wear with it. And I really don’t want to wear flip flops. So we’re going sandal shopping tomorrow.

Hm. But that seems to be the only news I have for today. I’m definitely going to think more about this piercing. I want to make sure I’m 100% on board and comfortable with my decision before I do anything else.

I’m still flabbergasted by the fact that I’m going back to school in 4 days. I have to say I’m really looking forward to seeing all my friends again. I’ve missed them.

This year is gonna be great!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

One response to “Doing Something for Myself

  1. A Good Wife

    Oh if I had the stomach to pull off a belly button piercing! I love the idea. Considering that a piercing is (can be) temporary it doesn’t seem like that big a deal. Sucks that doing this is against your parent’s expressed wishes. It is significant that your body may reject the piercing. I think you should be prepared financially and otherwise to take care of any ramification of your actions on your own. If you are not in a position to pay related medical bills, prescriptions, etc that may result from your body rejecting the piercing, then I think you should wait until you are. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

