To be continued…

Sorry I haven’t posted in 3 days. Due to various reasons, I’ve been going to bed rather late these past few days and sorry, I didn’t want to sacrifice sleep for this blog.

So anyways, hm….nothing really eventful happened Thursday. Friday, I was actually supposed to go to hookah with some random people, but I wound up not going. When me and my ex hung out last Friday and went to hookah, we met these guys who were in town selling newspapers. Well oddly enough, they were selling newspapers in the Union on Thursday and managed to sign me up for one (totally canceling it though). I saw them again on Friday and when we both realized who we were, they invited me to hookah. Long story short, they waited too long to text me so I found better things to do Friday night.

Saturday was all well and good. When I was walking home from my friend’s dorm, I ran across this group of (drunk) freshmen smoking hookah outside. They invited me to join, so I sat down and chilled with them for about an hour. It wasn’t that bad, especially when you consider how drunk most of them were. In the process, I even managed to meet someone from my hometown. That was super exciting. As you can imagine, there aren’t that many people from my hometown up here 12 hours away. So that was a random, eventful night.

And now today is Sunday. I worked my normal 7 1/2 hours today, hung out with my friends, the usual. Tomorrow is labor day, so thankfully, I get to sleep in. I’ll probably be spending the day catching up on homework. But I’m mainly looking forward to sleeping in. Between school and work, sleeping in is a rarity these days.

On Friday I met up with my Buddhist club people to discuss when our first meeting will be, and something was said there that I have been thinking a lot about. I can’t remember exactly, but it went along the lines of, “At first you may not believe in the metaphysical aspects of Buddhism, but as you go on and study more, they start to reveal themselves as truth.” And I feel like that statement really applies to me, especially in regards to the concept of rebirth.

When I first found Buddhism, I kind of ignored the metaphysical aspects of it and instead focused more on the philosophical aspects. I believed, and still do, that what happens after death is not as important as what happens in this lifetime – and so I glossed over the metaphysical stuff in my early days. Not only did I tend to think the metaphysical elements were unimportant, I also just straight up didn’t believe in them. But as time has gone on, and especially after the recent events of the last 6 months, I have started to believe in those elements, especially the one I was originally most skeptical about – rebirth.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Okay. So I was really looking forward to posting this really nice, thoughtful blog on rebirth and why I’ve started believing in it, but I apparently fell asleep for 2 hours. When I woke up, aside from being disoriented, I went and got ready for bed and now it’s 4:40 am.

Yes, I get to sleep in tomorrow, but now I’m just not feeling the metaphysics anymore.

I’ll try my best to finish up these thoughts tomorrow when I’m more awake and coherent.
You’d think I’d’ve learned my lesson by now. I can’t be anywhere even remotely comfortable in my dorm, or I will fall asleep. It may be for only 10 minutes, but I will fall asleep. And that’s what I get for trying to enjoy the comfort of my bed while writing a blog.

Until tomorrow my friends!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

