It’s a Wonderful Life

I wish I had something revolutionary to talk about tonight. I feel like my posts are boring because they generally amount to a rehashing of my day. But, write what you know, and what I know is my daily life.

Tonight, I went to church to watch the dress rehearsal of my mom’s Christmas program. This year, they’re doing a “Jesus-ed up” version of It’s a Wonderful Life.

It’s an interesting concept, and I appreciate the change from the normal story-of-Jesus’s-birth routine, but it failed somewhat in its execution.

My main problem is that this play is 3 hours long. Good lord, I thought it was never going to end tonight. The movie is only about 2 hours, so I’m not so sure why this play/musical needs the extra hour.

Other than that, my complaints mainly boil down to bad acting/singing/dancing. But what can you expect?? It’s a musical put on by the local church for the local community. You can’t expect a broadway quality performance, and it gets the job done. Oh, and the costumes weren’t period accurate. But oh well, they tried.

I really want to watch the real movie now, seeing as how I’ve only seen about the first 3/4 of it. I know it’s a classic, and the part that I have seen wasn’t bad. I feel like I can appreciate the movie more, now that I’m older. I don’t know. I just feel it’s a classic that everyone needs to see. Especially because my most favorite movie quote of all time, the one about lassoing the moon, comes from this movie.

I don’t know.

Anyways, more thoughts on exercise tonight.
I’m thinking about adding a cycling class to my schedule, but I’m really intimidated by the idea. Mainly I’m afraid I will die. Cardio is the weakest aspect of my overall fitness and I can’t imagine cycling constantly for an hour. I don’t know if my smoker lungs can handle that.

But I feel motivated to try it purely because I know it will be hard and because my stamina is the weakest part of my health. I really would like to be able to walk to class, or get into my lofted bed without getting out of breath or my heart pounding, smoking be damned!! I’m sure you wonder why I don’t just go ahead and quit smoking, since that would solve the majority of the problem, but that’s a whole blog post for another day. Don’t try to rationalize with an addict. Haha…

But yeah. That’s all I’ve got for now. I’m all pumped up about this getting in shape and yoga thing, so that’s all I’ve really been able to think about recently. I don’t want to bore y’all with, basically a synopsis of everything I said yesterday. I’m just so excited!!

I want to be one of those yoga geeks who has all the gear and goes to class constantly and is really good and really serious. I just want something to direct my focus and energy. I need something positive to obsess about to keep me from obsessing over negative things – because believe me, it will happen. That’s just how my brain works for some odd, unfortunate reason.

Oh, and on an unrelated note. I’m finding myself going through emotional withdrawals from my plants. I didn’t realize how attached I was to them, bur I had a whole dream about them last night!! I can only hope my ex takes good enough care of them over the break that they don’t die. I didn’t give him very specific care instructions….most of it’s common sense. I trust (hope) he has enough to figure it out.

Oh I love my plants. They’re like my little babies.

Goodnight!!

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

