Frustrated with my Flexibility

I just have to vent about how incredibly frustrated I am with my flexibility. I see these yoga poses that I feel like I should be able to do, but when I try to do them, I just can’t. At least, I can’t do them as well as I feel I should.

Most of it boils down to chronically tight hamstrings. And I know those are a result of a weak core. It’s frustrating because without strengthening my core, all the hamstring stretches I do are basically worthless.

Not to mention my progress is just so slow. I’d be lying if I said I haven’t seem any progress, because I have, but it just can’t seem to come fast enough for my impatient mind. I suppose that’s something I must work on as well: patience.

Perhaps things will be easier once the semester starts back up and I can attend fitness classes. Then I can work on my strength and my flexibility. I just wish fitness didn’t have to be so difficult for me. And I wish there wasn’t so much waiting involved.

It’s especially frustrating for me because I look back on the range of flexibility I had when I was doing ballet, and although it did not remotely compare to the flexibility of others in my studio, it was still more than I have now. I’ve lost so much due to basically doing nothing for the past year or so.

I just wish there was some secret formula or routine that could guarantee success, but there’s not. Flexibility is such an individualized thing. What works for one person won’t necessarily work for me. And most of it hasn’t worked so far.

I know the main thing I should focus on right now is strengthening, and the flexibility will come once I’m sufficiently strong. But that’s the hard part. I don’t really mind stretching, but strengthening is a killer. I have done no muscle building exercises since I’ve been home, even though I’ve been stretching every night.

It just becomes so difficult when I get frustrated like this. It makes you just want to quit and give up. I know I won’t, because the desire to succeed overrides the desire to quit, but it still is discouraging.

Really all I can do right now is continue stretching, and when the new semester starts, actually stick to the gym schedule I’ve laid out for myself. I can’t let anything get in the way. I can’t be apathetic towards it the way I was this past semester, skipping class just because I felt like it. I have to go. I know I’ll feel better about it in the long run. I know my body will thank me.

I just wish the new semester was starting now!! Haha. I’m pumped up and ready to go. I suppose I could start exercising at home right now, but I don’t know. I’m just not that kind of person. I have to go to the gym if I want to exercise. I get too distracted at home.

That’s probably a lame excuse, but it is what it is.
Oh well, I’ll just continue stretching like I am and hope that any incremental improvements I make last until the new semester. I do feel I’m making progress on my side split, but those use slightly different muscles than what is used in a front split and forward bends, my 2 weakest areas.

Oh well, I’ll keep trying. I might get discouraged. I will get discouraged. But I’ll keep going, keep doing, and try my best. :)

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

2 responses to “Frustrated with my Flexibility

  1. I and my guys were actually going through the excellent points located on the
    website and immediately came up with a terrible
    feeling I never expressed respect to the website owner for those strategies.
    Most of the ladies are actually consequently thrilled to learn them and have very much
    been using those things. We appreciate you indeed being quite
    kind and also for using this sort of superb subject
    matter millions of individuals are really needing to learn about.
    Our sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation
    to sooner.

  2. I think this is among the most significant info for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

