Confessions of a Confounded Twitter User

Well I have good news!!
I got my phone out of the rice today and it’s back inworking order!! Seriously, the only evidence of its swim in the toilet are a couple of tiny black lines on the screen. Other than that, everything else is fine!! The external sound is even working again.

I’m quite relieved about this, even though I’m still pretty sure I’m getting a new phone for Christmas. Apple really does know how to make a long lasting, durable product.

Hm. My mind is drawing a blank about what to write about.
I mean, I finished my Christmas shopping today and went to the grocery store, buts that’s hardly interesting.

I guess, the latest thing that’s been on my mind (meaning in the last couple of hours) is the conundrum of twitter. I have a twitter, but I still don’t really feel I’m using it effectively. I don’t know.

I want more followers on twitter but I post nothing of value that would warrant more followers in my opinion. I have no trouble thinking of things to post on Facebook, but I turn to twitter and my mind goes blank.

I guess that’s partly because I feel the stuff one posts on twitter should be relatively meaningful, whereas Facebook can just be filled with the dregs of daily life.

I just find myself lacking inspiration.
Like on here, I don’t know if y’all have noticed, but I always start out with boring stuff before my brain finally seizes on something interesting to write about. With a 140 character limit on twitter, I don’t have the space to do that. My inspiration doesn’t come compressed in small packages.

I don’t know why I attach this strange importance to twitter. I suppose this relates back to my social media post from a couple days ago. Worrying about the number of followers you have on twitter is a problem unique to our social media society.

Still, we all seek validation in certain ways, I seek the validation of total strangers. I always have. I always will. That’s why, as much as I lament the failings of social media, I will continue to use it and use it frequently.

I know I’m not the only person who seeks validation from total strangers. That’s another byproduct of our hyper-connected society. But it is what it is. I am what I am.

I just feel like I could have such inspiring and interesting things to say, if I could only figure out how to get them out of my head and onto paper. This problem isn’t unique to twitter. I feel the same way about writing a book. Writing a book is on my bucket list, and I feel I could write a really good one, if only I could find a way to organize and mesh all my thoughts into one coherent theme.

This may sound cheesy, but it’s the truth; part of me really wants to become a famous spiritual person. Like the Dalai Lama, but on a smaller scale. Like Jack Kornfield or Deepak Chopra (with less of the wishy-washy new agey stuff). Anyways, you get my picture.

I feel like social media and the Internet could be a great way to get my spiritual ideas out there, but I just don’t know how to organize them. I don’t know how to be inspiring on a daily basis. Being inspiring is hard when you have life to worry about.

I suppose they say, if you can dream it, you can do it, and maybe my problem is I’m just not making myself do it. I think spiritual inspiration is like a lot of things. In the beginning it’s difficult, but as you do it more and it becomes a habit, it becomes easy. Maybe that should be a new year’s resolution for me?? To post one inspiring thing on twitter a day. God, it sounds hard even thinking about it.

But I suppose most things worth doing are hard.
I don’t know if you can call posting to twitter “something worth doing” but trying to be inspiring or spiritual is. It’s for my benefit and anyone else who happens to read my tweets I suppose. Just to help me get and stay in that mindset of being spiritual is a good thing. I so oftentimes feel disappointed in myself for my lack of focus on Buddhism in my daily life. You’d think with as much as I love it and find it to be a source of inner peace, I would spend time studying it every day. But alas, normal life gets in the way and I can always find so many excuses.

Maybe that should be my new year’s resolution. Spend more time focusing on Buddhism. I know I’d be much happier for it.

I just find Buddhism to be so inspiring and wonderful. That’s part of the reason why I want to be a famous spiritual leader or twitter celebrity, I want to bring Buddhism to the masses!! I know not everyone will want to convert to Buddhism like I did, but I feel if I could just expose them to some of the ideas, the world would be such a better place.

Sometimes I really wish I could convert the whole world to Buddhism. Haha. But then life wouldn’t be any fun would it?? Diversity is the spice of life!! :P

Night y’all.

Oh yeah, and after all this talk about twitter, if you really wanna follow me, I’m @emilleejoyce

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

4 responses to “Confessions of a Confounded Twitter User

  1. Posting to twitter is definitely no something worth doing lol. Most of it is just a bunch of rubbish about people’s daily activities.

  2. You could start by talking about Buddhism here. Just a thought

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

