Everything has to match.

Well I want to start out by saying tonight, that I’ve started noticing improvements in my flexibility. I’m almost afraid to believe it because flexibility has always been so hard for me.

I mean, yes, I am getting deeper in my forward bends, but the most exciting progress for me is my standing toe touch (Uttanasana). I know I’ve been emphasizing proper form in all my stretches, but I still use the improper form to measure my progress. Let’s face it, if someone asks you to touch your toes, you’re not gonna use a straight back. You’re going to bend in whichever way helps you touch your toes (aka, bending from the waist).

Well back, I guess a week and a half ago when I first started stretching, with a bent back, at the most, I could get my knuckles to touch the floor. And that was warned up!! On cold muscles, I could barely even touch my toes. Well now, warmed up, I can put my whole palms on the ground!! Doing so is still an intense stretch, but it’s better than I’ve ever been able to do before. I can still pretty much do it on cold muscles too, just not as easily, and I can’t hold it.

But still, even though this is all with improper form, it’s still success!! And I’ve finally started passing 90 degrees in my forward bends with proper form. I’m super happy and now I really can’t wait to get back to Columbus so I can start exercising and getting stronger. I know once that happens, then I’ll see real improvements.

The only thing I’m worried about is keeping up my current stretching schedule. Right now, I stretch for approximately an hour every night. I don’t know when I’ll have time for that during school, especially when I’ll already be spending an hour at the gym.

I mean, it would be one thing if I was working out alone, I would just take an extra hour after my class to stretch, but my friends will probably come with me, and I know they don’t want to hang around for an hour after a class.

What I’ll probably have to do is develop some sort of shortened routine where I can still make stretching improvements, but not spend an hour doing so. You know, maybe only focus on my hamstrings and hip flexors. And maybe not hold the stretches as long as I do at home.

Hm. I’ll figure something out.

But yeah. Now I’m super excited to start going to the gym. I love it when hard work pays off, especially because so many nights I just feel like skipping.
I wonder how much more progress I’ll make before I leave on January 5th?? That’s an exciting thought.

Anyways, today consisted of church and rooting around in the attic for handmedown dishes for my apartment. I’m not super excited about having to use old dishes for my apartment, mainly because they’re all ugly. But we can’t really afford to go out and buy everything new, as much as I wish we could.

I’m just really anal about everything matching, and when you use handmedowns, matching is a nonexistent concept.
I’m not sure where the desire to have all new things comes from, I’ve been like this for a while. I think it stems from being the second child and always being made to go through other peoples’ clothes. And I mean, that stopped as I got older, but the handmedowns still manifested in other ways.

I’ve never had matching furniture, which bothers me. I know furniture is expensive, but in my whole 19 years, not once have I had a matching set. Not even a handmedown matching set, I’ve always had a hodge-podge of furniture.

And with my rooms, even though my mom always matched my bedspread to the walls, my decorations never really matched. I guess that’s mostly my fault though, because I was the one who picked out the decorations. I could’ve picked out matching ones if I really wanted too.

I don’t know. I’m sure I’m making it sound way worse than it actually was. This is just how my mind perceived it. You have to admit though, there’s something to be said for an all-matching room. It just looks so nice and well planned.

Oh well. My mom said this’ll just give me something to save up for. Joy, spending my money on dishes. Oh well. There’s really not much I can do. I guess I’ll never have a truly matching house, until well, I can own my own house and I can alter it as I please. Something to look forward to I guess.

Today in church, I was thinking I might blog tonight about something religious. I had a lot of good topics come to mind, but now, I don’t know, I don’t feel very inspired to write about them. Maybe some other day.

I guess my lack of desire to write about religious things reflects the priority religion currently has in my life. It really should be the #1 thing, but it’s not. That’s on my to-do list though, a new year’s resolution. I’ve got several Buddhist books sitting in my dorm waiting to be read, and I’m going to do my best to read them. A little bit each day. It’ll be good for me.

But that’s all I really have to say for tonight. I’m ready to just lay down and chill out, not that I haven’t been doing that already. I’ve just been lazy this whole break. I suppose there’s nothing really wrong with that, though I really do need to work on my research paper….

Nighty night.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

