The iPhone 5 & Hissing Cockroaches

So today was spent getting my new iPhone set up and running. I’m blogging from it now!! :) We got my phone number transferred over along with my contacts, on top of all my apps and stuff, and I got a new case.

Let me tell you, the iPhone 5 is fast. Like, super fast. Waaay faster than the iPhone 4. I can’t even believe it. I’m still amazed and a little giddy about the fastness. And I have 4G. ^_^ Maybe other people don’t think that’s so cool, but I do. Super fastness!!

It’s a little disorienting because the iPhone 5’s screen holds 20 apps, where the 4 only held 16. So all my apps are moved around and it’s a little confusing. I keep wanting to look in the wrong place for stuff. Oh well. I’ll get used to it. Haha.

I went to Lowe’s tonight and I was really sad I couldn’t bring home any plants. They had diffenbachias for $3!! (Diffenbachias are on my “plant wish list”). But I guess on my wish list is where they will stay because I don’t have the room or the money really to adopt another plant right now (plus you can’t easily fly a plant on an airplane). One can dream though…

I also went to Kohl’s so my mom could return the bracelet she bought me for Christmas. It’s not that I didn’t like the bracelet, I just probably wouldn’t wear it. I hardly wear jewelry anymore, plus she’d gotten me a bracelet very similar to it before.

I feel so bad returning gifts. I feel like it makes me ungrateful. But my mom said she would rather return the gift and get her money back than for me to keep it and it never get used. That’s true I guess, but I still feel like I’m being ungrateful. I suppose I just shouldn’t think about it too much. It’s over and done with anyways.

I’ve also been thinking about pets. I’d really like to have some kind of living animal in my apartment next year. I’m not really sure if my plan will work, because the real estate company of the apartment I really want to rent has a “strict no pets” policy. But see, I don’t know if that strict no pets policy applies to things in cages, specifically insects.

I’ve wanted a tarantula forever, but after looking online, I decided the initial start-up cost and feeding cost was too high, even though care requirements are low. I also thought fish might be an option, but the initial costs and care requirements are too high. So I’ve come up with the perfect solution!! Madagascar hissing cockroaches!!

Okay, so I have a love for bugs. And in my entomology class this past semester, our professor taught us about hissing cockroaches and how easy they are to care for – which inspired me. Plus, I think they’re kind of cool. They make noise and are easy to handle as well. Feeding and care is minimum. You just feed them dry dog or cat food with some occasional compostable scraps (aka garbage) and you’re good to go!! They’re low mess and they only live for about 3 years, so they’re low commitment. They’re perfect!! Plus they’d be a great conversation starter. ;)

Like I said, this is all dependent upon whether cockroaches count as “pets” and if they’re allowed in my apartment. Even if they weren’t allowed, I could still probably get away with keeping them but still. It’s nice to have permission.

I don’t know. I just think they would be a cool, low cost, low maintenance pet. Perfect for a poor college student!! I just really want to have something to take care of other than plants. I love my plants dearly, but they don’t move or make noise or any of that. Hissing cockroaches do and they’re just plain cool!!

But yeah. That’s my grand idea. I think it’s a good idea personally, but we’ll see if it actually works out in execution.

I don’t really have much else to talk about. My day has been pretty bland. Tomorrow promises to be even blander than today because I have absolutely nothing planned. Oh well. That’s Christmas break for ya. Pretty boring, at least in my case.

Good night y’all.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

