The Hobbit

Well I am feeling much better today. My nose is not running near as much and the pressure in my head is slowly fading. I think by tomorrow I should be about back to normal. Which is a relief. I’m tired of being sick, mainly tired of constantly feeling fatigued. And I’d like to be able to get a good night’s sleep again.

Oh yeah, happy new year’s everyone.
I don’t know. I’m not much one for celebrating. Tonight was probably the most exciting New Year’s Eve I’ve ever had, and it just consisted of going to see the Hobbit. Usually I stay at home with my parents and do nothing.

Anyways…the Hobbit was good. I don’t know if I’d say it was as good as The Lord of the Rings trilogy, but it’s only the first movie so I’ll give it a chance. I mean, I’m not a huge fan of the first lord of the rings movie either. I do look forward to the second one coming out. I would like to find out everything that happens.

The books are on my “to read” list, but who knows when I’ll get to them. I have so many books on there, the list is practically infinite. And as any lover of books will tell you, it just keeps growing and growing.

I managed to convince my parents to go out late so we could see the HFR 3D version of the Hobbit. It was really strange. My sister, who saw the movie before us, said it felt like watching a video game. At first I didn’t understand how that could be possible, but now I know what she meant. It was a little surreal and I’m not sure how much I like the effect yet.

It does make the movie look really real and there was great depth perception with the 3D, and my eyes did adjust to the HFR eventually, I’m just not sure how much I like the juxtaposition of “real” and “digital”. I don’t know. Maybe if they had done the HFR at a lower rate, it would’ve looked more normal. Like, instead of doubling the normal 24 frames per second to 48, maybe they should have only done 36 or something?? I don’t know if that’s possible. Just a thought of mine.

I’m sure if more movies continue to use the technology, I’ll get used to it, and perhaps we’ll reach a point where all movies use HFR, and we won’t be able to remember what old movies were like. I don’t know. I’m just glad I got a chance to see this new technology in action. I feel like it might be a little historical and I got to take part in it. ^_^

Hm. But that’s about it for the excitement today.
I did read an interesting tidbit today that said tea, and black tea specifically, can help prevent lung damage associated with smoking. I guess I should start drinking more tea?? But y’all don’t want to listen to me talk about my addiction again. That’s no fun for all parties involved.

So I guess that’s it. My post feels like it’s a little short, but y’all’ll live. Y’all don’t really care about my life anyways, do you??

Haha. Nighty night.

About emilleejoyce

I am a yoga alliance 200 hour certified yoga teacher whose hobbies include growing cacti and succulents, cooking vegan food, and bicycling. My day job is in academic publishing.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address below to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 97 other followers

In the Past

On Twitter

